CHANGE: The Power of Addressing Social Justice Through Art

CHANGE mural

CHANGE unveiling in the Terrell Library Atrium drew students and faculty from across campus.
Photo by Joanna Steward

Congratulations to doctoral student Krystal Roig-Palmer! Krystal and several of her students were featured in WSU News and by the College of Arts and Sciences for their 4-by-8-foot painting titled “CHANGE.” The mural addresses issues involving life-course options and brings awareness to engaging through youth justice in America. You can find the painting in the WSU Compton Union Building (CUB).

Read more about “CHANGE”: AND

Foley Institute: 2017 Graduate Fellows

Photo by the Foley Institute.

Congratulations to Youngki Woo, one of the eight graduate fellows to be funded by WSU’s Thomas S. Foley Institute for Public Policy and Public Service in the summer of 2017! The graduate fellowships are funded by Scott and Betty Lukins, Alice O. Rice, and the Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railway. Youngki was featured among other fellows in a recent article from the Foley Institute (click here to read).

Undergraduate Accomplishments

Last year, a number of CRMJ undergraduates were honored with awards on campus.

Danielle Ledezma, Mackenzie Selleg, and Samantha BillCRMJ majors Danielle Ledezma, Mackenzie Selleg, and Samantha Bill were all recipients of the 2017 President’s Award for Leadership. These students provide an invaluable leadership service to WSU and we are incredibly proud of them.

In addition, a number of undergraduates received awards and honors from the department at the 2017 Department Award Ceremony.

Laura Hewitt-Adams was selected as the Outstanding Graduating Senior, while the following students were selected for other awards in 2016-17:

Outstanding Undergraduate Students: Samantha Bill, Amanda Burrows, Drew Chapman, Jordan Chatman, Kaitlyn Dehmer, Karl Groeschel, Craig Maertens, Trevor Merkl, Chelsea Parker, Sarai Salgado-Miranda, Sarah Sherrod, Mackenzie Selleg, Jordan Sykes, and Michael Wilkinson.

Additionally, the V.A. Leonard Scholarship was awarded to Schyler Black and Ofelia Rodriguez; the Kathleen E. Taylor Scholarship for Excellence in Service was awarded to Emma Smith and Connor Finnegan; and the Kathleeen E. Taylor Scholarship for Academic Excellence was awarded to Samantha Bill, Amanda Burrows, Craig Maertens, Chelsea Parker, Zoe Robinson, Sarah Sherrod, and Jordan Sykes.