Skip to main content Skip to navigation

2019 Highlights & Congratulations


Among the outstanding faculty and students who were highlighted this academic year:


Aric Dutelle.
Aric Dutelle.

Aric Dutelle, master’s student, was one of three panelists for “Crimson Reads: A celebration of WSU Authors” in March. Find out more.

Dr. Zachary Hamilton.
Dr. Zachary Hamilton


Zachary Hamilton, associate professor and graduate director, was selected as one of the contributing experts to assist in the development of the National Institute of Justice’s First Step Act risk and needs assessment system. Find out more.


Dr. David Makin.
Dr. David Makin

David Makin, assistant Professor, was granted tenure and promotion this academic year. Additionally, Dr. Makin, uses evidence-based research to help his undergraduate students learn how to help authorities combat crime and other public safety threats. Find out more.


Dr. Melanie-Angela Neuilly.
Dr. Melanie-Angela Neuilly

Melanie-Angela Neuilly, associate professor, is WSU’s new interim associate vice provost for faculty development. In her new part-time role, Dr. Neuilly will direct training and development activities for department chairs and directors; direct New Faculty Orientation and the new faculty seminar series; oversee faculty professional development activities; serve as the Provost’s Office liaison to WSU’s ADVANCE program; serve as chair of the WSU Showcase Steering Committee; and work collaboratively with faculty groups dedicated to faculty development and improvement of faculty life. Dr. Neuilly is appointed for this new position until December 31, 2019.

Additionally, Dr. Neuilly’s edited book, Mothering From The Field: The Impact of Motherhood On Site-Based Research, is coming out in June with Rutgers University Press. Get more information about how to order the book and a 30% discount here.


Dr. Mary Stohr.
Dr. Mary Stohr

Duane Stanton, doctoral candidate and Mary Stohr, professor, presented to the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board Meeting on “Research on the Effects of Cannabis Legalization in Washington” on January 8, 2019, in Spokane, Washington.


CRM J senior Jordan Sykes.
Jordan Sykes.

Jordan Sykes, Outstanding Criminal Justice and Criminology senior was chosen to carry the gonfalon for the College of Arts and Sciences during Washington State University graduation ceremonies on Saturday, May 4, 2019, in Beasley Coliseum. Find out more.


Dr. Dale Willits.
Dr. Dale Willits

Dale Willits, assistant professor, and alumnus Dr. Ruibin Lu were highlighted in The Seattle Times for their article on “Fund levelheaded research into cannabis legalization.” Read more here:




Congratulations to our 2018–2019 Master’s and Doctoral Graduates!

  • 2018 Summer
    • Jordan M. Ferguson (M.A.), Leah Ruiz (M.A.), & Wesley Maier (Ph.D.).
  • 2018 Fall
    • Rachael Brooks (M.A.), Elizabeth Dotson (M.A.), Mikala Meize (M.A.), Mary Miller (M.A.), Elizabeth Tollefsbol (Ph.D.), & Youngki Woo (M.A.).
  • 2019 Spring
    • Brandon Bang (Ph.D), Tasha Fox (Ph.D.), Moana Hafoka (Ph.D.), Mia Holbrook (Ph.D), Melissa Kowalski (Ph.D.), Celia Magnuson (M.A.), Gloria Ochoa-Bruck (M.A.), & Youngki Woo (Ph.D.).
Dr. Moana Hafoka with his family.
Dr. Moana Hafoka with his family.
Drs. Brandon Bang, Tasha Fox, Faith Lutze, Elizabeth Tollefsbol, & Wesley Maier.
Drs. Brandon Bang, Tasha Fox, Faith Lutze, Elizabeth Tollefsbol, & Wesley Maier.
Drs. Faith Lutze and Tasha Fox.
Drs. Faith Lutze and Tasha Fox.
Dr. (now) Elizabeth Tolleftsbol and her husband.
Dr. (now) Elizabeth Tolleftsbol and her husband.

Drs. Zachary Hamilton and Melissa Kowalski at 2019 Awards Ceremony.

Dr. Zachary Hamilton and Dr. (now) Melissa Kowalski celebrating Melissa’s award, Dr. Otwin Marenin Outstanding Doctoral Student, at the 2019 Awards Ceremony.

Drs. Craig Hemmens and Mary Stohr, with Dr. (now) Youngki Woo and Dr. Dale Willits, with Dr. Staci Hoff (on AMS video) before Woo's final defense.
Drs. Craig Hemmens and Mary Stohr, with Dr. (now) Youngki Woo and Dr. Dale Willits, with Dr. Staci Hoff (on AMS video) at Youngki’s final defense.
Drs. Mary Stohr, David Makin, Moana Hafoka, and Melanie-Angela Neuilly at Moana's final defense.
Drs. Mary Stohr and David Makin with Dr. (now) Moana Hafoka and Dr. Melanie-Angela Neuilly at Moana’s final defense.
Drs. David Brody, Mia Abboud Holbrook, Dr. Zachary Hamilton at Mia's final defense.
Dr. David Brody, Dr. (now) Mia Abboud Holbrook, and Dr. Zachary Hamilton at Mia’s final defense.


Washington State University