2022 Criminal Justice and Criminology Awards Celebration

Alumni, faculty, staff, graduate and undergraduate students, and friends of the Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology gathered to recognize outstanding service and achievements with scholarships, awards, and other forms of appreciation. Below are images from the 2022 Criminal Justice Awards Ceremony held in the CUB Junior Ballroom on the Pullman campus on April 19, 2022.

Dr. Kevin Wright speaking at the awards ceremony and reception.
Alumnus Kevin Wright spoke at the awards ceremony and reception.
10-year Anniversary Cake, Crimson and Grey
10-year Anniversary Cake
10-year Anniversary Cake, Grey with Crimson Sprinkles
10-year Anniversary Cake
Keynote Speaker: Kevin Wright, standing behind a WSU podium
Alumnus Kevin Wright delivered the keynote.

Dr. Wright receiving his plaque from Dr. Neuilly
Kevin Wright and Melanie-Angela Neuilly

Alumni Award

  • Distinguished Alumni Scholar Award: Kevin Wright

Department Awards

  • Community Partner Award: Mindy Breiner and Staci Hoff
  • Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology Appreciation Award: Lorena O’English

Faculty Awards

  • Outstanding Criminal Justice Professor Award: John Snyder
  • Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award: Amelie Pedneault
  • Greg and Beth Pierce Faculty Award in Criminal Justice and Criminology: Hillary Mellinger

Hillary Mellinger and Melanie-Angela Neuilly, Award Ceremony
Hillary Mellinger and Melanie-Angela Neuilly
Anna Stiegler, Mary Miller, and Amelie Pedneault, smiling
Anna Stiegler, Mary Miller, and Amelie Pedneault
Mary McMillin and Dale Willits, Smiling at award ceremony
Mary McMillin and Dale Willits

Graduate Student Awards

  • Dr. Otwin Marenin Outstanding Doctoral Student: Samantha Tjaden
  • Outstanding Criminal Justice Graduate Student Instructor and Outstanding Ph.D. Instructor: Mary Miller
  • Outstanding Masters Student: Mary McMillin
  • Recognition of Graduate Student Association: Hillary Mellinger (advisor), Brittany Solensten (president), April Kraft-Duley (GPSA representative), Leah Reddy (vice president), Mary McMillin (treasurer), Mazarine Higgins (secretary), Ciara McGlynn (first-year representative)

Graduate Student Association
Hillary Mellinger, Ciara McGlynn, Mary McMillin, April Kraft-Duley, Brittany Solensten, and Prof. Dale Willits.

Undergraduate Student Awards

  • Diego Moreno Memorial Scholarship: Jacob Stanley
  • Kathleen E. Taylor Scholarships: Annette Alejandre, Alejandro Bruno, Stephanie Quinones, Marinna Sanchez, Katherine Vescio, Aritalia Williams, and Kira Zook
  • Outstanding Graduating Senior: Noah Hansen
  • Recognition of Alpha Phi Sigma: John Snyder (advisor), Anna Stiegler (president), Dita Lamdjani (vice president), and Mike Chan (secretary)
  • Recognition of Criminal Justice Club: John Snyder (advisor), Anna Stiegler (president), Mike Chan (vice president), Anneliese Leach (secretary), and Dita Lamjani (public relations)
  • Tompkins Family Study Abroad Award in Liberal Arts: Jack Maloy
  • Rebecca W. and Robert M. Gates Education Abroad Scholarship: Maryann Hanes
  • GSA Staff Recognition Awards: Kiva Bloxham-Bliss, DeeDee Torgeson, Tina Krauss, M.R. Orozco, Sisouvanh Keopanapay
Staff, Smiling
Kiva Bloxham-Bliss, DeeDee Torgeson, Tina Krauss, M.R. Orozco, and Sisouvanh Keopanapay